fabric.png

Each year in February, DH and I go skiing in Quebec, at Mt. Saint Anne, which is about 45 minutes east of Quebec City.  We rent a townhome at the bottom of the mountain (which is about 2000 ft. of elevation) with some friends – mostly these are friends we play volleyball with in a league; so often, as was this year, it’s all guys and me!  We go from Sunday – Friday and ski 4 days…in between we relax, cook, play cards and watch movies.  This year the mountain was closed one day due to inclement weather – which is very unusual!  So DH asked if I wanted to go fabric shopping in Quebec City.  A few years ago we went to a small, family run Tissus Claudiany; this year after visiting Club Tissus in Montreal last summer with Connie, Kay and Anne Marie, I decided to check out the Quebec City store.

On the way home we dropped in, as it’s just off the highway.  The store in Montreal was about twice the size, however this store still had a very nice selection of fabrics and more.  I especially like fabrics from Telio Fabrics – a Montreal distributor.  Once in a while Fabricland in Toronto will have some (my Burda T with the exposed back zipper is one of their fabrics) but Club Tissus has an amazing selection!

As well, they stock sewing machines, sergers, gravity feed irons, books, patterns, magazines and lots of specialty fabric and trims.  They always have Jalie patterns, too!!  They have a club card which gives you a discount, and each bolt has a regular price & club price, which is usually a few dollars less per metre.  Staff speak mainly French.

Above is my ‘haul’ – from top left; clockwise:

  • 2m rayon digital print in a silky lawn weight with a gorgeous hand and drape $12.99/m
  • 3/4″ knit elastic in black and white (this is great because unlike other elastics it does not get narrower when it’s stretched – for some reason Fabricland here doesn’t stock it much) .39/m
  • 1m printed mesh; for sleeves for a mixed-media t perhaps… $4/m on sale
  • 1m geometric design laser-cut pleather; it’s pretty wide…maybe for a skirt or insert/border….not sure but it was just so freakin cool I had to get it.  $24.99/m

I also have done some sewing in February, unfortunately my latest project was packed up and sent to my sister for a birthday present before I could remember to take some pics.  It was a tunic top (McCalls 7248, view D) in a purple patchwork poly georgette print with satin cuffs and neckline:

 

m72481

For anyone sewing this, I found the high-low hem was not as pronounced as the illustration indicates.  I liked the pattern, it was pretty easy to sew.  I always find this type of neckline fiddly; in this one they have you insert the collar bands into the pleat at the bottom front.  Placket necklines get me too, I always find it difficult to get the plackets to overlap exactly and line up perfectly with the clipped corners at the bottom of the garment.   Maybe I should cut the slit after I have the neckline sewn?   Not sure how to fix that issue….I will make it again with an easier to sew fabric next time which should help with that problem.