Sara Jalie On Frontjalie pull on pant 2Jalie Pull on pant cropped

My DSD is a tall skinny kid. So was her Mom & Dad (and I was too, but I can’t take credit for her gene pool)  She wears a school uniform and has outgrown all her pants, so I was tasked to make her a few pair.  Thank goodness for Jalie!

The pants above are Jalie 3243, pull on pants and shorts.  I also made her a pair of Eleonore pull on jeans with some leftover 4 way stretch twill, but my fabric store only had non-stretch navy fabric.  The problem with most pull-on pants for kids is they are cut very generously with too much ease & often a high rise, so they look Becky-homecky.  Jalie to the rescue!  I find most of the Jalie patterns I’ve tried fit slim.  They also give a very RTW look.  These pants were no exception!  They are a slim fitting pull on pant (or short) with a medium rise & straight leg.  For a picky 11 year old they are great!  Not too wide (or floppy) and the waistline is not too gathered.  I made a size K (6) waist with a size Q (13) length.

The pants have some variations included, the pockets have a facing which can be sewn inside or outside the pocket (and used in contrast, too).  Above you can see the pocket with the facing sewn on the outside.  As well, the waistband can be sewn outside or inside, mine had the waistband applied as a facing & sewn to the inside.  I used 1″ elastic sewn through the centre as per the instructions.

As with all Jalie patterns, the drafting and instructions are excellent.  The only thing I would check is the pocket size; its on the smallish side; and as you can see on the top the facing is topstitched through the top of the pocket.  If you have larger hands it might make the pocket opening a bit small.  It fits DSD fine, though!

Here is a sneek peak of another recent project on my cute sister:

McCalls Tunic on Glynis