M7284 Back

Squinty face!! I made this top to show off some really glorious fabric acquired from Elliot Berman in NYC that I got at PR weekend in June.  It’s a fine rayon border-print panel, and I needed the perfect pattern to show off the gorgeous print.  Enter:

m7284

There are lots of gorgeous versions of this top already:

Lori of Girls in the Garden in a dotty version

Sharon of Stitch Sewing Studio in a mixed print version

Erica B’s white linen version

I made version A, but without the high-low hem; the border print was straight across so I cut along the design.  I also created a tiny band of the border and used that on the gathered sleeves instead of making them with elastic.   Other than that, it was a straight up sew.  The yokes are faced with lining fabric instead of being self lined,

Because the border was not wide enough to use for the neckline inset,  I cut that part with a centre front seam (the print hides the seam) to fit the pattern piece.  I also used my baby hem technique – worked great in this drapey, shifty fabric (which is delicious on!).  The front is closed with a hook and eye.

Here’s a detail of the sleeve bands and hem:

M7284 close up

I did not lengthen this at all, I was happy with the way it looked here, which is super unusual!  I see it’s a bit shorter than the model (mine his above the crotch line) but I didn’t want anything too tunic-y (is that a word?)

Here’s the back (the hem is even, it’s just the way I’m standing):

M7284 Front 1 (3)

I’m pleased with the way it looks, the fabric was beautiful to cut and sew!

Worn here with Jalie 2908 stretch jeans (skinnified) & faux leather flat sandals