Simplicity 8124

Suetop

 

As you can see, this was a pretty easy make, it’s one of the easier off-the-shoulder patterns out there right now, with only 3 pattern pieces (front, back, sleeves).  I could have easily gone down a size to have the fit a bit more like the envelope photo.

I made mine from a soft navy rayon.  It’s a plain weave, with a fair amount of drape.  I got it in a store that has lots of Indian fabric & they had it in tons of colours.  My guess is it’s for traditional asian garments.  It’s super soft!

This is a great pattern if you want a quick, on-trend sew.  I made it the night before then wore it to a potluck lunch the next day.  I’ve never worn an off the shoulder top before and it behaved pretty well.  I have also read a tip for putting elastic loop under the arms to help keep it in place (which I didn’t do, but would be a great idea.  I lengthened the sleeves about 1″ & made a tunic length.  Overall the look is more voluminous than the pattern envelope, but I think the simple style would suit many ages & figures.  I like the deep hem (although you’ll have to ease it in, which is not suggested in the pattern instructions).

I should also mention I picked this pattern up in San Diego last November at a black Friday sale, I’m not sure why, but for a few years now Simplicity and New Look patterns have not been available in Canada.  I guess it’s a sore spot; when I was at PR weekend the woman from Simplicity Patterns rolled her eyes when I said I was from Canada and said she “didn’t want to go there” (talk about it, not literally NOT go to Canada, who wouldn’t want to go to Canada?) and I didn’t even mention the subject!!

I am wearing it here with white cropped Eleonore jeans from Jalie & a Stella and Dot necklace.