As with all things, life and job really took a lot of my time in 2015; I devoted all of my spare time to sewing, but certainly didn’t post a lot!

This year hopefully will be a bit better, with some very loose sewing goals to post more, post on instagram and sew more from my extensive collection of Burda Style; which has been a birthday present from my husband for many years now!

This first project of the New Year is from January 2016; a blouse in the plus section, 132A.  Here is the photo from the magazine; I really loved the fabric and the way it was used as a border print.  Unfortunately I couldn’t find the fabric on line, but surprisingly I did find a close match at Fabricland!

Burda 132A magazine

Description from Burda: “This hip-length blouse features 3/4 sleeves with slits and a fun printed fabric. Pair with slim trousers for your morning commute to work!”

My version, in a similar print (an interlock jersey; not a woven) with decorative exposed zipper:

The fabric does not have as much ombre effect as the original, but if I find a nice border print I may try and sew it again for spring.  The fabric is printed with a very muted pearlized metallic finish.  If you look closely, the back has a semi-circular inset on the top.  I interfaced it with Pro-Weft Supreme medium weight fusible interfacing from Fashion Sewing Supply.  Pam has absolutely the best interfacing around, I highly recommend it!  The zipper is topstitched down and doesn’t open, it’s merely decorative.

I sewed this top like a blouse (the pattern is for wovens) instead of a knit.  So I included the darts and set the sleeves in by hand; the only thing omitted was the neckline facings.  I hemmed the sleeves, neck and hemline with a twin needle; I took my time pressing the curved hems before sewing them; this fabric held a crease really well.   It went together well, but I really didn’t look at the instructions so I can’t tell you whether they are in the usual crazy Burda style.

All in all, happy with the result!

My next plans are a mini-capsule with:

  • grey culottes (Butterick B6178) – what’s up with Butterick lately?  I have bought more Butterick patterns lately than in the last few years!
  • purple sweater knit split-neck top (McCalls M6796)
  • cocoon jacket in black/white/silver marled sweater knit (Style Arc Violet Knit Jacket)
  • black pull on pants  (Style Arc Barb or Flatbottom Flo)

Happy 2016 & here’s hoping you achieve all your sewing goals!