Sarah's PJ's

My DSD is a tall, lanky string bean…super strong, fast & flexible too! But pants are a continual problem. Thank goodness for adjustable waists, but I still usually have to take waistbands in 4-6″. Because she wears a school uniform I don’t sew for her often, but I do tend to make the kids PJ’s now and then.

The last time I made her pj’s when she was 3 years old & she still fits them!! OK they are way too short, but still!!

So time for some stash busting new PJ’s! I drafted an easy top & nightie (not shown) and used size 4 T bottoms from an old OOP Kwik Sew pattern (she will be 9 years old next week!) These are still a tad too short, she will likely outgrow them next year, so I may whip up another. A simple tank top & just under the knee bottoms made from some soft rayon floral knit purchased way back when I worked at Fabricland and a mystery knit in watermelon pink for the top. I bound the top (tutorial to come from a maxi dress) with scraps and used a pretty scalloped fancy stitch from my machine for the hem in a co-ordinating green! She picked the fabric from my stash.

The nightie is just the top lengthened in a cotton/poly blend (woven) trimmed with stash eyelet trim and ribbon. Both passed the wearability test, too!

