Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

pants4

So far for my spring sewing I’ve made 2 pair of slim crop pants.  The black pair seem to have lots of fitting issues in the back – but in real life they are not as bad as they look.  Really.  Its the cotton sateen that shows every wrinkle, as evidenced by the difference in the front shots (same pattern, different fabric)

I’d love to tell you the patterns, but it’s really a mish-mash.  I used a self drafted sloper (still needs some work at the CB), welt pockets from Sewaholic’s Thurlow trousers; and the black pants remain pocketless in the front and the patterned ones borrow the funky patch pockets from Simplicity 1783 by Cynthia Rowley.

Both are slim leg & cropped above the ankle. The black ones are stretch cotton sateen; the patterned ones are a stretch print twill in dark navy (reads also as black) tan & white.  Both have had a great deal of rotation this spring!  They both have side invisible zips; I made a faced hem for the black ones as they were a bit shorter than I wanted.

Also check out the shoes in the shots with the printed pants!!  I wear a size 12 shoe (I’m 6 ft tall) and love these shoes – I actually have bought the shoes in both pics in multiple colours. The black with tan trim are knockoffs of Valentino Rockstud flats; from Barefoot Tess.  The other black flats are the Claire Flats by Dexflex from Payless, I wore out the plain black, and now have the chain toe black flats as well as a white pair with black toe caps.   They are possibly the most comfortable shoes I have owned!

 

