skirt3

I have a confession to make. I am highly influenced by what other bloggers make. I saw this cute skirt on a blog, and then just had to make it! This pattern is great, it has lots of skirt variations; here is the pattern illustration:New Look 6228

This version is view C, and I have previously made view B.  I pegged this a bit by taking out 1″ at the hemline.  It’s made from a navy crepe knit.  The only other change I made (mainly because this fabric had quite a bit of snappy recovery) was to omit the elastic from the waistband – it makes a nice clean waistband.  I would encourage anyone to experiment with a wide self-fabric waistband on a stretch skirt; it may need to be cut a bit shorter to hold up the skirt, but when it works its much sleeker than a waistband with elastic.   This skirt is a great, flattering basic.  I will say I don’t wear my tops tucked in very much, but now I see it in a photo I don’t mind the look!

Here is the skirt back, whole outfit and shown in combination with the Style Arc Tamara top:
skirt1

Vogue Woven T

Vogue woven T

Style Arc t & New Look SKirt

Style Arc t & New Look Skirt

