Hot Patterns

orange top2

Yes, I am alive!  I have been in a blogging hiatus due to 12 hour workdays including weekends & a couple of courses as well.  I completed my second last course exam today whilst stylishly wearing my new T!  I have been sewing, as you will see in the upcoming posts (look for a teaser below!) and of course, stashing.

This is the HotPatterns Fast & Fabulous Blouse Back T; their newest pattern release which I was delighted to find in a downloadable PDF!  Their sewing patterns, while lovely are printed on extremely large & heavy paper stock, which makes shipping exorbitant to Canada.  Instant gratification AND saving money?  I’m in!!!

Here is the link to the pattern on their website (NAYY)   HotPatterns

I made size 12, and as the facebook group (linked here – go ahead & join!!) photos poured in, I found it to be a bit oversized and long for what I envisioned, more tunic like than t-shirt like.  So I made a size 12 without my usual lengthening & I like it just fine!   I may make the sleeve a bit wider on the next version should I make one, as I like the loose fit look on the envelope.

My fabric is a silk jersey with lycra from my stash (which was an ill fated hot mess dress last year in the wadder bin waiting to be reborn) and the contrast bit is a remnant of the silk/cotton voile from Fabricland, formerly seen in this shirt (oh, and long hair!):

McCalls6436

 

 

I like the t; it was comfy to wear and trendy, too! The fit is just perfect and I made no other alterations than to shorten the neck band about 1″ because this silk jersey was floppy stuff. The back and front are hemmed separately & the front hem is finished very cleverly to get a clean finish. I used a double needle to hem this as I am generally to lazy to fiddle with my serger/coverstitch machine.

I have been stashing quite a bit, as well as sewing a swelligant spring wardrobe; here is a peek:

Style Arc Shirt

Style Arc Shirt

Style Arc t & New Look SKirt

Style Arc t & New Look Skirt

Vogue Wrap Dress

Vogue Wrap Dress

Burda Sweatshirt

Burda – Poly/Silk combination fancy sweatshirt

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

Simplicity Frankenpattern pants

