Burda 118-3-2013 (1)

With a crazy work schedule I’m still trying to crank a few things out of Studio Sue, and I wanted to make a simple shift dress. I actually tried to line this one (after fitting the lining) but for some reason it pulled the dress out of shape, so I removed the lining and used packaged bias binding to finish the neck and armholes.

From the angle of this photo it’s not evident, but this dress is closely fitted.  I used a lightweight embroidered cotton that was a remnant from my days at Fabricland in a purple-grey colour with ecru embroidery.  The trim at the waist and hem is vintage crocheted trim.  I cut this on the cross grain to get the selvedge at the hem, and left the hem unfinished.

Burda 118-3-2013 (2)

Here you can see the back, I made two small darts at the shoulders to bring in the neckline slightly to match the contour of my back. The invisible zipper is under the left arm. I used a purple zipper and painted the pull to match with nailpolish (I just happened to have an exact match)

Burda 118-3-2013 (3)

From the side view you can see exactly how fitted the dress is. I pinched out quite a bit of fabric under the bustline in the princess seams to get it to fit this closely to the body. I’m wondering if the waistline trim should have been positioned a bit higher, but I’m too lazy to fix it.

Do you like the red shoes? They are cool shoes from Barefoottess.com which caters to size 10 and up.  They are knock-offs of these Valentino ‘Rockstud’ flats:

The cut on my shoes isn’t quite as sophisticated; but at $59 as compared to the Valentino shoes at $655 they are a veritable bargain!

