Yes, I’m Sue and I’m a Style Arc Addict. The overwhelming allure of the just off the runway styling. The exotic appeal of fashions not available in Canada. Welcome to my Style Arc Monkey. This week’s monkey (oh yes, there are many little monkeylets) is called Ivy; and she’s a beauty. She may remind you of her expensive cousin, Marni.

Marni Printed cotton-jersey and cotton-canvas T-shirt

Here she is:

Ivy Top Front (1)

This is a great t-shirt pattern. I didn’t want it too oversized, so this is a size 12 (my measurements suggest a 14) I didn’t lengthen it – which I usually do. It’s sewn up like a regular t-shirt, so there’s not much to say other than baste the necline band first before you sew it; each knit fabric behaves differently and I had to trim 2″ off the neckline to get it to lay flat. The fabric I used are remnants from my stash, both some designer ends from Pink Tartan, a high end designer label from the wife of the originator of Joe Fresh, Kim Mimran.  The grey is a silky, heavy weight rayon knit and the white is a fine rayon knit with lycra and a bit of sheen.   The other great thing about this pattern is that it’s handy for using up some stash fabrics, you’d need less than 1m of each depending on your size.   Here’s the back, it has a high-low hem:

Ivy Top Back

Another great Style Arc pattern!

A quick postscript; looky what’s coming for fall from JCrew; couldn’t you see this pattern in two prints!!

