Sewing a trench/spring coat has been on my wishlist for a while.  Yesterday I took some time analyzing this with the often made and highly recommended McCalls 5525.  So why did I choose this?

  • I liked the tailored fit and seam detail
  • it is styled like a trench, but a shirt style collar (with stand) instead of a big wide collar may speed up the sewing time and make it a bit easier
  • the Vogue pattern has a 2-piece sleeve

I have decided to take this project s-l-o-w-l-y.  I cut out the pattern and fabric yesterday.  Today’s task is interfacing.  One day will be the lining (which I shall wash today) and one day marking then we will be good to sew!  Now I have to source some leather buttons and belt buckle; luckily there is a members sale this week at Fabricland should I need more thread or interfacing.

The fabric is a camel wool gaberdine from Fabricland for $10/m.  I plan on using pro-weft interfacing and leather covered buttons + belt buckle.   The lining is in my stash, it will either be a rayon twill or a funky poly lining with a ‘Prada’ logo (a few years ago at Fabricland they had a selection of linings with faux-brand names)

I’m toying with adding a bottom ruffle if I can find some more fabric to copy this Burberry trench, just cause it’s so darn cute!

So cast your votes, ruffle or no?:

