Here is a bit about my latest project. I’m really pleased with how it turned out. As a matter of fact, some of my favourite garments are from Burda Style – which is where this pattern is from. This is Design 106 from September 2012 Burda. The technical drawing for the pattern:

9-12-106

As you can see it’s an ‘upgraded’ t-shirt, with french darts, slight bell sleeves, a centre back seam with a “V” and a hem & neck band.  There is also a dart at the sleeve head, which is sewn together with the shoulder seam for another neat detail.   I sewed a 44, which I took in quite a bit at the waist and CB seam to make it more fitted.  I lengthened the sleeves and body about 1″ and eliminated the hem band.

Some of these changes I made because of the incredibly aweseome sequin fabric:

Burda 9-12-106

Which as you can see is a sweater knit in charcoal grey with a matte sequin camo pattern.  It’s made by Telio, and I got it at Fabricland.  It’s pricey at $40/m, so I waited for a 50% off sale.  It took 1 1/2 meters.  The beautiful seaming is hidden, but the shaping is there and I like the simple, elegant lines of the top.  There was quite a bit of plain knit at the selvedge, so I cut the neckband on the lengthwise grain to make use of the plain fabric.

Surprisingly the fabric did not need to be lined, and both my serger and regular machine sewed right through the sequins with ease.  It’s not too scratchy on the inside either, the seams are serged, so it covers most of the sequins in the seams.  I finished the hems with seams-so-soft (zig zagged to the hem, turned up then topstitched in two rows). Because it had some wool content (I think poly/wool?) it steamed and pressed quite well. I did use an organza press cloth. My hubby has dubbed it “Hilton Camo” (a variant of his “Hilton Hiker” phrase for those who dislike camping!)

Here is the back view:

burda sequin sweater back

I am wearing some trouser-jeans with it here, but I’m not sure this is the best choice. I’m thinking pencil skirt? Any suggestions?

