Tags

I really really love this skirt. It’s easy to sew, elastic waist, no real fitting, doesn’t take much yardage and it’s Donna Karan!!

I fell in love with this blue sateen cotton stretch from Fabricland when I saw it, it was such a great, intense shade of cobalt blue.

The pattern itself is easy, there are quite a few pleats and tucks in random places on the skirt, and the front seams wrap to the back. The back right seam has a walking vent in it, and the seams are bound with a hong-kong finish. I shortened it to knee length, and didn’t make any other changes really. I think if I make it again I would not put the elastic in a casing, I’d serge it on and flip it for a smoother finish.

I hope this suits my body type, it seems to fit a curvier figure – as you can see you need some booty to fill out the back of the skirt with all the tucks!

It’s worn here with McCalls 6436 in a gorgeous cotton/silk voile print from Fabricland. I also made 2 other co-ordinating tops to go with this skirt, kind of a spring mini-wardrobe! Shoes are from Payless.

