Now that the holiday bustle is over (and I’ve been hiring and work and training for some new responsibilities as well as studying for my Real Estate licence) I have some time to blog before work starts again tomorrow!  Here are some projects I completed for Christmas and during the break:

KS 3064

This is one of two suits for my Mom.  The awesome ladies at patternreview helped me immensely with the interior construction; my mom wanted foam cups, additionally I fully lined the suit to try and add to the durability of the suit.  The original pattern does not have cups and has only a partial lining.

Kwik Sew 3064

As you can see from the details, I created a separate top lining for each bra cup from fashion fabric.  The cups were sewn in separately, then attached to the suit.  The plush elastic under the bra cups was then attached to the cups, joining them together.  Then I added the bottom of the lining to the bra top.  So the bra cups ‘float’ a bit at the top, but the bottom lining holds everything in place and the fabric on the front covers everything up perfectly when it’s on.

Bra Cups

Bra Cup Detail

The second suit will be the same design but in a pink/brown hibiscus print with brown back/panty.  The only thing I’ll change is to maybe cut the bra cups so they don’t have a straight edge – but that’s more for esthetics; it’s very comfortable on.  Isn’t the fabric pretty?  The fabric, elastic, cups and lining are from Ann’s Fabrics in Hamilton; the plush underbra elastic is from Bra Makers Supply in Hamilton.

McCalls 6404

I’ll do a review when I’m wearing them and can get a decent pic; but these knit pants look similar to leggings on the envelope, but I’d classify them more as a slim pull on pant.  This is view B, which I made from a black ponte knit with python-print knit inserts.  The print is a shiny black-on-black print.

McCalls 6404, View D

McCalls 6404

If you want more of a legging look, try a muslin first.  As my ponte doesn’t have a lot of recovery I think a pant-style will work better so I don’t stress the seams.  I plan to wear these ankle-length pants with short boots.

The only change I made was to widen the waistband to wrap around 2″ elastic – I prefer a flat, wide waistband so I borrowed this change from a Kwik-Sew yoga pant pattern:

Cut elastic casing 1/2″ larger than your elastic.   Sew the seam & overlap and sew your elastic so it’s a circle. Wrap the waist casing around the elastic then baste across the bottom to hold the elastic in place stretch elastic if needed to do this step. Mark quarters on both the casing/elastic & pants, sewing in on in the round.  Stretch elastic as necessary.  As you can see from the pic, the casing will lay nice and flat if you use that technique.

Fabric was in my stash, from Fabricland – I think the python print was from last year.

McCalls M6400 Tops

I also made a sparkly knit top to wear to acouple of Christmas parties – the same top shown on the model on the pattern above.  No pics of that yet.  Super simple to make!!

Faux Fur Vest

 

Faux Fur Vest

 

I used an OOP princess seam jacket pattern for this.  The fabric is a super soft faux sheared lambswool with tricot backing; I didn’t line it, just bound the neckline in a very stable knit-back faux distressed leather; the attached belt is from the same leather; it’s sewn into the princess seam.

I also made a last-minute Christmas present of PJ’s for DS #2 from an OOP pj pattern.

Next Projects :

I have to do a project for my Mom’s friend, (splitting a king comforter into 2 twins and add a border from fabric recovered from the bedskirt) .  Then the second bathing suit for my Mom.

I’d like to do some spring wardrobe planning; also in consideration for future projects:

  • Some quick knit tops: V1250 cut to a top length in a few colours for layering under sweaters
  • Simplicity 1961 draped cardigan and matching top for a twin set
  • White shirt, perhaps with ruffled – pattern to be determined
  • Coloured slim jeans from Jalie 2908
  • Knit tops for hubby

Whats on your wish list for 2012??

