While I may be the last person to sew this pattern (as I write this there are 61!! reviews of this pattern on Patternreview)  I did make my own changes to it.  If you’re going to need a gown this holiday and you have, um 3 hours to make it, this is the pattern for you!  I simply lengthened the skirt sections & added a back godet.   The dress got loads of compliments! (I wore my Vogue cape over it, which was perfect!)

I used a pattern in the December Burda magazine which has quite a full fishtail, but didn’t have enough fabric left over, so simply cut two pizza-slice shaped pieces that were about knee high, sewed them together then inserted into the back seam.  I even did the hems with a twin needle (although because it was stretch velvet, I basted them first, as the godet required some easing  of the curved edges.

Other than raising the armhole and doubling the cowl as suggested by Kay at the Sewing Lawyer, I made no other adjustments.

Here is the pattern and my version, worn to my company’s Christmas party :

Vogue 1250, Front

Back view, showing godet

