Giambattista Valli Fall 2010 Collection Felted Wool Cape-Coat $5,222

 

Oh don’t you love getting a deal?  How about a knock-off cape-coat as worn by Victoria Beckham.  Because I sew,  I just happen to have one just like it.  I think mine cost about: $40 of fabric (well, it was in my stash over 5 years, so that makes it free, right?), $7 worth of buttons and the pattern (V8776 on sale) for $3.99.    It looks like there are subtle differences between the two, the version above looks like it has pockets with oversized welts and may be lined, the Vogue version is self lined for the front sections and has in-seam pockets and two of the buttons are in-seam as well.  Mine is made from wool melton (probably a blend) and self lined in the upper front, the lower front is lined with wool gaberdine.  The pockets are lined in silk charmeuese to be extra luxe.

Here is the pattern:

Very Easy Vogue 8776

 

And here is my version:

Vogue 8776

Alternate view

While this pattern is rated easy, the in-seam buttonholes are not the easiest to do in a heavy melton; otherwise the pattern went together easily, I made it late sunday afternoon & evening and finished it Monday evening.  If you’re doing it in a heavier weight coating, I’d suggest substituting a lighter weight fabric or regular lining for the self lined portions at the cape upper front and lower center front.  I’d still use self lining for the collar.  I omitted interfacing as this is melton which is pretty heavy.

Now only if my hubby Bent it like Bex!!

 

 

