This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wanted a pair of ankle-cropped neutral pants and found this pattern in my stash.  Of course I bought it for the dramatic top, but the pants I thought might be a neglected gem (and I was too lazy to trace out a Burda Style pattern!)

These pants have a LOT of waistline detailing, which sadly, is mostly hidden as I wear most of my tops untucked.  It has a split back with top curve, two small, stupid pocket which are perfect for change to spill out of while you are perched on a toilet and a faux-welt detail and topstitching.   There is an invisible zipper – but my new machine came without an invisible zipper foot – so I did a lumpy lapped zipper instead.

I like the cut of the pants; they fit ok in the back.  To be honest I mostly used my self-drafted sloper from my spring pant fitting exercises.  The waist is pretty high and it has a very wide waistband, which I lined with lining.  I like that technique – despite the lumpy zipper and detail around the hips, the lining keeps it not too bulky.

Cute pants, especially if you tuck in your shirts!

Oh, the fabric is a gorgeous stretch cotton sateen from fabricland in a taupey-mushroom shade.   I purchased it previously for the pant fitting excercise and had to throw out the wadder I made from $19/m fabric!  This piece was on the sale table for $3/m (so I have a pair of Donna Karan pants for about $12 — Lovin’ it!) – I’m going back tomorrow to see if there’s any left on sale, it sewed up like a dream.

Next up; Halloween costumes!

