Reethi, Connie, Claire & Me

On Thursday I skipped out of work for lunch and what’s now likely to be an annual shopping trip with Reethi, Connie, Claire.

After an interesting lunch of Venuzuelan Arepa’s on Queen St. with Connie’s lovely daughter Leah, we did some serious shopping till the stores closed, then Connie and Claire and I headed to my house where my fabulous hubby prepared a delicious fish and seafood dinner for us and we took a post-dinner tour of my sewing room (I had spent a few hours organizing my stash the evening before).   Connie generously brought a traced copy of a DVF wrap dress, and I managed to convince them both to take some stash fabrics that I’m clearing out.

Claire and Connie had done some damage at King Textiles before we met up, but we enjoyed shopping at Downtown Fabrics, Archie Fine & Sons, LA Fabrics,  Mokuba among others.  Here’s a useful link showing some, but not all of the Fabric Stores on Queen St. E, Toronto

I was trying to keep an eye out for fabric for this cape pattern from Burda World of Fashion, and saw several lovely camel wool/cashmere blends:

Burda 8/2007 Model 111

But didn’t get anything.  I had a brainwave after, and plan on using some stash corduroy for the cape.

My purchases included:

Silk Charmeuse

Delicious Silk Charmeuse, one of the most expensive fabrics I’ve ever bought at $45/yd!  I only bought one yard; now must scour my patterns for a top that’s miserly with yardage!

Mokuba Stretch Trim

Stretch trim from Mokuba, an incredible trim/ribbon store from Japan.  Silk ribbon, leather & suede look ribbon, and tons of stretch trim including gorgeous foldover elastic velvet!  The trim above is shown on some Chicago PD Weekend fabric and was a resonable $6.50/yd – their prices go from simple soutashe cording (90 cents/yd) to $141.0/yd for ultrasuede fringe.   I plan on using it to decorative shirr a simple draped top, similar to this:

My third purchase was an interesting reversable, Miyake-esque knit:

Reversable Rayon Knit

I’m sure I’ve seen something similar recently from Marcy Tilton.  This was a reasonable $8/yd.   Not sure what it will be, as I will need to apply some brain power to how best use both sides of the fabric, but I’m leaning towards something like this:

V1261

or this:

V8582

After I’m finished my small home dec project, I’ll have fun planning my fall transitional wardrobe!

 

