Issey Miyake Vogue 1238

Things I like about this dress:

  • This is a super great dress for hot weather!
  • It’s a Miyake design (love love Miyake!)
  • It was super easy to make
  • It took less fabric than the pattern said, so I have enough leftover to make a top
  • I didn’t have to make any adjustments to the pattern, not even length!

That’s a lot to love!  I got a huge amount of compliments on this dress from women at work.  Guys not so much, but then they never comment too much.  DH thought it was unique and funky.

I loved this immediately when I saw it, but wanted to do the subtle contrast in fabric, like the pattern envelope shows:

Issey Miyake V1238

I found some slub rayon knit from Fabricland that’s super light and drapey – at $7 a metre and I cut the contrast section so the wrong side showed so I’d get a subtle contrast.

This dress is a centre front and back and two scalloped-shaped side sections and the sleeve front and back.   Slightly gathered in the front, the neck and armholes are bound.  Probably one of the easiest Miyake’s I’ve done!

I’m doing the flying squirrel pose here to show you how the draping looks extended.

Flying Squirrel Pose - think it'll catch on?

Today I purchased

Donna Karan V1259

 

Alice & Olivia V1261

McCalls 6404

While these were on sale at Fabricland, I notice both patterns I purchased and the fabric that I bought are cheaper (the patterns online) and the fabric is discounted further to $3/m – although all in all I made my designer dress for less than $30, so I can’t complain — sigh.

I can console myself that I’m going shopping on Thursday in the fabric district with the super fablous Connie, Claire and Reethi!!  On my list is some Mokuba trim & stretch wools.

Next sewing will be replacing some drape panels in DS’s room and maybe some activewear!

