Back of dress - is it wrong to like this view better?

Yes, I have been sewing…I promise!  I’ve made this dress, a version of V1224 (Tracy Reese) and some shorts for DH (New Look 6951) I’ve set up my new machines, except for the serger which seems to be an amputee — missing a foot.  And I’ve hosted a pj birthday party, celebrated Canada Day, gone camping and produced a grade 6 graduation video!!  It’s been a busy month!

So here is my first completed project.  I’m a little ho-hum about it.  I think it adds bulk, although it’s a timeless design.  And, styled correctly you can wear it as a waitress uniform.  Here I’ve gussied it up with a braided belt (thrift store find), turquoise bracelets (Forever 21) and sandals (Payless).  The fabric is a stretch cotton lightweight twill from Vogue Fabrics, Chicago.  Purchased on my PR weekend.

It was fairly easy to sew, and has nice seaming detail, with the angled side seams and integrated pockets and hidden button placket.  The pockets are a tad on the small side to be very functional, but I do love me a dress with pockets!  I lengthened it about 6″, and put a snap at the top of the buttons.  I did lengthen the sleeves, but cut them back again as the entire effect was very matronly.  I also made a self-belt.

Vogue 1220

