Well, sadly I’ve had this pattern since September – and finally just made it up today!  Happy!  At the PR Montreal weekend this past June, the lovely folks at Jalie brought this pattern in quite a few iterations.  One of them was a cute top in a kids size, which I immediately wanted for workout wear (although it would be quite cute as a top, too)

I made a combination of View B and View C, which can be worn either way; here is the back, or is it the front?

I lengthened the upper bodice pieces by 1″ – an adjustment I knew I had to make after trying on the samples.  I tried to position the bands of the print so the darker pieces were at my smallest points to create a more slimming look.  The under-bust band and bindings are from the fabric my leggings were made with.    Jalie’s instructions for applying the binding are great!  Oh, I also lined the bodice so I can wear it braless.

I made the lower bodice 13″ long. (I used the 39″ bust size, btw)  I have just enough fabric left of the print to put a nice inset into the band when I get around to making the Yoga Pants (Jalie 3022)

Here is a photo of my new baby, the Viking Designer 1:

As you can see, this is just the machine, without the embrodery attachment.  It has a huge variety of built in stitches.  I took a lesson yesterday to set it up properly, and it worked just fine.  My biggest challenge seems to be getting floppies (which you insert into the machine for the embroidery designs) – neither Staples or the neighbourhood computer shop sold them!  I can’t wait to add some cool embroideries to t-shirts.

On the stash acquisition front, I bought 2 Vogue patterns at Fabricland during their Vogue Sale.   I’d like to sew a few more of my Donna Karan patterns (they are some of my favourites!) so I picked up:

Vogue 1220

And also, as wide legs are trending this spring, I like this funky take on it from Marcy Tilton:

Vogue 8712

Oddly enough, the pants pattern calls for knits, which I didn’t realize.  However, the black version has an elastic back waistband and flat front, and is ‘loose fitting’ so I think using a woven (I’m thinking linen) should be fine.

I’ll have to look through my stash for some suitable fabrics, if not wait for the next Members sale in Feb.

Next I really have to fix my zip back leggings.  I’d like to sew up my red plaid before our upcoming ski trip in March; I saw a nice plaid version in Lucky magazine that looked just like a Vogue pattern where the front flips up and folds back (sorry, can’t find a quick photo)

