I have been sewing, my most recent project was a fourth Christmas present made from the Jalie pattern – I think this version was the best yet, made from a lightweight sweater knit in charcoal tones.  This time I made the largest size, for a work collegue who is on Jenny Craig and has lost 20 lbs since October. 

The end of my Chrismas sewing was a white knit version of the Sandra Betzina Bolero top, and a pair of pinstripe black work pants.  Unfortunately I didn’t measure the pants pattern, which is an OOP HotPatterns pants pattern that I altered a lot, but obviously made it in a skinnier state, so even with the seams taken out as minutely as I dare, they need to be worn with Spanx, at least until I loose 10 lbs or so!

My mind is on Spring now, although I may find diversions in some Jalie activewear and fininshing a jacket started WAY before Christmas before I get some actual sewing done. 

Nordstroms has 10 spring trends published (and is a great inspirational/eye candy site as well):

  1. Coral
  2. Boho Influences
  3. Florals
  4. Stripes
  5. Wide Leg Pants
  6. White Wardrobe
  7. Flat Sandals
  8. The Spring Face
  9. Long Necklaces
  10. Cross Body Bags

 I would love to do a spring/summer wardrobe with navy/cream/coral/khaki but I’m on a self imposed fabric diet – I have a Fabricland gift certificate to spend, but only have a couple of coral solids in my stash.  So they may be an accent rather than an anchor.   I’d like to make navy and khaki crop pants to start.  I also have my eye on some long necklaces and flat sandals – I’m dying to see the spring Payless collection – they rumoured on Facebook that the designer shoes this season will be coming out in 12’s!! 

I also acquired an embroidery machine (I say that because the agreement was more a permanent loan than a gift); a Viking Designer 1.  I haven’t been able to get the embroidery part to work, so I’m taking a lesson next Saturday at the dealer nearby, I’m so excited.

So what’s on your sewing books?

