Burda 7595

Here is the first finished project of my ambitious capsule; and here it is worn below with V1214 leggings:

Burda Tunic and Leggings V 1214

The leggings were super fast to sew.  I made them with some nice thick spandex activewear that I purchased at Suzie Spandex in Montreal on PR weekend.  I love this fabric, I may have to mail order some more.

They were very long though, after adding 4″ to the length and 1″ in the rise they are still super long.  2″ would probably have been enough, and I didn’t really need to add to the rise.   Here is a detail shot of my cute shoes and the ankle ruching:

Ankle detail

 I did make a second pair in wool jersey with exposed back zips.  A cautionary note, it worked much better for me to ignore the markings for the waistband and ankle cuffs, instead I quartered & applied them as I would any neck binding or waist binding on knits.  It worked much better – I found the patterns markings to be a bit off.

Here is the second pair, as you can see even though I took out that 4″  I added they are still way too long!!  I’m going to cut them below the knee and take out some of the length, and resew them, adding a design detail (which will also allow me to make sure the zippers are straight.  When they are done I think they will be great.  The wool & spandex jersey is a heavy double knit from Fabricland    Marked down, the entire piece was about $8.  The fibre content was not on the bolt, but I washed it and it sure smelled like wet wool – Score! 

Back of Leggings

The last finished garment so far is V8582, a tunic from Marcy Tilton.  I think it turned out super, and will be nice to wear with the leggings.  I changed the neckline to be closer to Hotpatterns Plain & Simple Relaxed-t; by morphing the necklines and using the binding from the Hotpatterns.  I like the Marcy Tilton neck treatment, I just like a lower neckline on me.   The fabric is a ponte remnant from Fabricland, which softened and became much drapier when I washed it:

V8582 Front

That’s it for now! Some dress pants are cut and started, I’d like the flannel shirt and two white t’s done to finish the winter sewing.  Then some some cute things for DSD and a Jalie Cardi for a co-worker. 

Happy New Year!!! Time to spend some quality time with a malt beverage or two, DH and think about sewing resolutions for 2011!!

