Bad Bad Photo!

Yes, I have been sewing (but obviously not blogging!).  These pants are inspired by one of the wardrobes in patternreview.coms wardrobe pattern contest – Urban Casual Wardrobe and her great version of skinny cargos! 

I apologize for the bad photo – I’ll try and get DH to take a pic next time I have them on.

I used my Jalie jeans pattern and ‘skinnified’ the legs using a pair of skinny jeans I have like so:

Adapting the Flare to Skinnies

I used the cargo pockets from Burda WOF  05-2010-131 – freely adapting the sketchy instructions and tiny photos to my own version so:

Stitching the Cargo Pocket Sides

Cargo Construction...showing the tab

Bellows Pleat

The front cargo pockets have a bellows pleat and close with 2 D-rings and tabs.   I did the topstitching in matching regular thread.  Here are the back pockets:

Back pocket

Otherwise, the only change I made was to interface the waistband, which I cut on the bias as per the pattern.  It turned out a bit tight.  Next version I will cut the waistband on the straight grain – maybe with stretch fabric it will be a good compromise between the too-stretchy bias and the too-stiff interfaced version.

In the mirror photo I’m wearing these with the Hotpatterns Plain & Simple Relaxed T I made in the linen knit & a self crafted long feather charm necklace & really cool riding boots that lace up the back.

I’ve also recently made the Hotpatterns Bustle Back Skirt & Jalie Pleated Cardigan.  Next project – Scarrrry Witch Doctor for DS haloween costume

