Here is my latest project, Butterick 5495

Butterick 5495

I don’t buy Butterick patterns very often, but I loved the cut of this when it came out.  It fits all the ‘figure flattering’ rules:  empire waistline, v-neck, ruching over tummy.  There are 6 variations in the pattern, basically this cap sleeve top in 2 lengths, and a long sleeve & elbow-length sleeved version in 2 lengths.  This is view A, I cut a 16.

If you look closely at the front, one of the nice design features is that it has a self-created front band at the neckline formed when you fold the front facings over the back at the shoulder seams. 

I made it out of the package with no alterations to fit my 50 year old 6′ tall body.  It fit great!  Another bonus is because of the shaping, it only takes 1 meter of 60″ knit.  The top above took about 2 hours to make, the fabric was $6 and the pattern was $2.99.  Will I make another one?  Absolutely. 

Side View

For summer I will make one in a nice white knit from Fabricland, and I may make another long or 3/4 sleeve when I get to my fall/winter sewing.

Back View

The only alteration I made was to reinforce the dots (which are clipped at the centre V and at the sides where the loop is inserted) with fusible knit tricot instead of stitching.  That’s it. Lenth is perfect! 

Reinforcing the points before clipping

