This is a pretty, but complex knit pattern that’s been hanging around my stash for a couple of years; I thought the lines would make it flattering – here is a photo so you can see the technical drawings because my fabric is so busy it’s hard to see:

s1849 envelope

And here is my version, in a poly knit remnant left over from Fabricland days, the knit has a sueded feel to the hand. If you look closely you can see the twisted front detail:

s1849 front

Here is the back, although I see it’s hitched up a bit:

S1849 back

The unique thing about this pattern is that the front piece is comprised of 3 layers of fabric, so a thin knit is required. The body, the two twisted bits are overlays and the front neckline is finished with a facing that extends to under the bust. The back neckline is finished with a band that forms a facing.

My fabric is printed, and the pattern calls for the area where the twists are to have the seam allowance folded back without being stitched down. This was not too successful, so I had to tack down the fabric with a bit of fusible web to keep it in place. I did that after the top was sewn, it would have been much easier to do it before the twist was constructed. Not sure if I would make it again, it was a lot of work for a knit top!

