Using my fitting block that I created a while back, I used V7881 to make a pair of office dress pants.  I used the non-couture construction methods, but with the couture waistband.  Here are my previous pant fitting adventures:

Pant Fitting Woes

Pant Fitting Musings

Pant Fitting 2

Pant Fit Adjustments

Final Pants

These pants are pretty wide legged and high waisted, but the overall fit is good and they make a nice, comfortable pair of dress pants for work.  The sewing time is actually pretty quick; and I used lining for the inside of the waist as an experiment to cut bulk, it would a much more impressive technique in wool; these pants are rayon/poly/lycra blend, or RPL as it’s commonly referred to in the sewing world.

Here is the photo from the pants pattern:

Vogue 7881

And here is my version, front and back – my only alteration besides using my pant block was to lengthen them about 4″. This is a size 16:

V7881front

V7881 back

As you can see, my pant block does a pretty good job of eliminating any wrinkles on the back side; other than my VPL :) I am wearing a top I made to co-ordinate with it, an It’s So Easy pattern from Simplicity. The fabric and pattern were in my stash leftover from my Fabricland days!!

You have seen the fabric before in this dress, and I still have some left:

NL 6123 (1)

