After another frustrating wrestle with some pant fitting, doing a proper muslin & tweaking it then adjusting the pattern only to find the pant legs are doing some fancy twisting, I threw my hands up in the air (I just don’t care) and decided the only thing to do was make something fast & trendy!

McCalls 6725

Welcome to the Mullet Maxi! McCalls 6725. This is a Stitch-n-Save pattern with two views, which can also be found in McCalls 6567 along with 2 other variations. I made view A, but added a waistline casing like in view B (view A has a waistline that turns over to make the casing) to fit a 1 1/2″ elastic. Here’s my finished version:

McCalls Mullet Skirt

This baby is long! I wanted a maxi-length in the back, and this skirt has no other changes to it other than adding the waistband. Now usually, being 6 ft tall, I normally add about 4″ in length to any pattern, so if you like this skirt, check the length. Also, I wanted it more fitted at the hips/waist with less gathers than the typical elastic waist skirt, so I cut between the Small and the Medium based on the finished measurements of the pattern.  Notice, not only is it trendy, it incorporates pantones colour of the year, emerald green!

I fused the hem with fusible web for a quick finish, et Voila!!

On the table is a simple, fitted sheath dress from Burda Style in a really gorgeous embroidered cotton:

Burda Style March 2013

