sweaterf

I’ve had my eyes on this fabric at Fabricland for ages (in an ends bin, in a few different colours) it’s soooo pretty. It’s a Missoni-esque novelty knit that I picked up for about $4/m. Unfortunately it was off grain (that is if a knit can be off grain?) and my first go of a burda cardigan pulled so much because of the twisted grainline it was unwearable. The second version, McCalls 6708 turned out much, much better.

This is a super great pattern & I can’t wait to make a fall/winter version up in a boucle knit. Or maybe another colourway of a similar fabric to this; now I know to check the grain in-store before I buy it.

The pattern has 6 variations of this cardigan – talk about value for money! My version is View E – but instead of bust pockets I made a faux welt (by just using the binding piece, sewing it on, flipping it up and tacking the edges down.  I also used some great jersey ring snaps from Prym which are big and funky instead of buttons.

The binding was made from some fine silk/rayon knit jersey, interfaced with wonderful interfacing from Fashion Sewing Supply.  Luckily they just had a sale so I have restocked my stash of weft interfacing as well as ordering a couple of yards of Pam’s new couture interfacing.  I used Prosheer Light for this, which was just enough to stabilize the bands to hold the snaps but not make it too stiff.  The back neckband gapes a bit because I had to cut it on the lengthwise grain instead of crosswise from the remnant I had.  I also shortened the sleeves to 3/4 length.  I hand sewed the little patch pockets to get a good match on the knit.

sweaterb

 

I’m very happy with the results!  I’m wearing it here with a bias cut linen skirt and Simplicity 2599 My next projects are to tweak some skinny crop pants from a Burda pattern; (as it’s pant fitting I’ll have to make a muslin) and make some skinny jeans from my TNT Jalie Jean pattern (seen previously as white jeans, red cords, skinny cargos and basic boot-cut jeans - which makes this the pattern I’ve sewn with most often!)

