Vogue 8815

Ann Taylor has opened two stores in Toronto – and I’ve been the lucky recipient of some lovely lookbooks. Not only is Kate Hudson a gorgeous spokesperson (although isn’t she more Boho than tailored?) the lookbooks have beautiful, wearable clothing and great styling. This outfit is very reminiscent of the recent catalogues – right down to the short booties!

The top is the very popular V8815. This is a super easy sew, and went together beautifully. The top is a lightweight ponte style knit made by Telio from Fabricland on sale for $6/m. It’s a lace and denim abstract print. The whole thing is done on my serger except for the hem which was twin needle stitched. I also set in the sleeves flat – like a t-shirt and it worked like a charm. The only change I made was to lengthen the body 1 1/2″. I’m wearing a cute little bow-belt from Reitmans; I think it was like $6 on sale.

V8711

The draped skirt is Vogue 8711. I used a wonderful drapey polyester from Fabricland which was perfect for this style. The waist insets & waistband are remnants from a skin-overprint ponte knit. I love the draped effect, which is created by a combination of pleats which are then gathered. The waistband is elastic. It’s a little too big in the waist now since I lost a few pounds so sits a bit on my hips (although that’s not apparent in the photos). I tucked in the top to show the waist details. I lengthened it and omitted the underlining. I really like it – I just need more tops to go with it! The fabric is great; machine wash and no wrinkles. Kind of like a matte jersey except smooth and not a crepey, dry hand that some of them have. Here’s a back view and view of the whole outfit (oops, with top tucked in!!)

On the stash aquisition front, I also scored some lovely (again, Telio) sweater knit in a heathered charcoal with random patches of matte gunmetal sequins today; it will be gorgeous made up!!