Here’s a quick project, great for Christmas presents.  I would say 2 hours start to finish, including digging through my stash to find some co-ordinating remnants!

First, credit where credit is due, here is the link to the instructions and patterns:

http://sew4home.com/projects/storage-solutions/916-travel-accessories-curling-ironflat-iron-case

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I made this from stash fabrics and bound it with straight strips of contrast (because I didn’t have any wide binding in my stash) I also padded it with iron-on fleece – I ironed the fleece to flanelette and placed the flanelette side towards the interior pocket to protect it from heat. 

Easy to make, and if I made it again, I’d buy some warm and natural quilt batting to bind it, als the layers did get thick.    Of course the project would go faster if you used the wide double fold packaged bias as the pattern recommends.  This was a birthday present for a co-worker who dropped some very large hints that she would like me to make one for her! 

Other items of note, I attended Connie’s PR weekend last week held at her farm near London, ON, thanks Connie, will post about that later!!

My cape is up today on the Vogue Patterns Facebook Page, yay!!

Next project: rescuing my son’s jeans (never mend jeans after dental sedation, ask me why)

Dress for work Christmas party; the contenders are:

Simplicity 2553

Burda Style Nov 2011

 
Or, if I decide easier is better:
Donna Karan for Vogue V1159
 
Or the famous:
 
DKNY V1250
 If you have a preference, leave a comment!